To make it easier to understand the severity of an incident, we have created a severity scale.

What severity is assigned to an incident?

Based on the check that failed, the severity is assigned to the incident. For example, if a certificate is expiring in 14 days, the severity is Medium. If the service is unreachable, the severity is Critical.

A list of severities and their check types can be found below.

Uptime heartbeatCritical
SSL certificate expiredCritical
Domain expiredHigh
Hard performance threshold exceededMedium
Median performance increasedMedium
Domain expires soonLow
SSL certificate expires soonLow

Severity scale

CriticalThe service is unreachable or unusable. For example, two consecutive heartbeats of an HTTPS monitor failed.
HighImpact on the service related to the incident is noticeable and requires action.
MediumThis severity is important, but does not immediately impact service availability. It is assigned to incidents such as a certificate expiring in 14 days.
LowEvents that happened, but do not impact service availability directly. For example when a certificate change was detected.
NonePurely informational, used by i.e. resolved notifications.